# BOROUGH OF WHITE OAK Minutes of Swearing In Ceremony / Council Reorganization Meeting January 3, 2022, 7:00 PM

**CALL TO ORDER**: Mayor Ina Marton called the meeting to order at 7:02 PM.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mayor Ina Marton

### SWEARING In:

Mayor Marton introduced District Justice Tom Miller to conduct the Oath of Office for the following newly elected officials: Mayor Ina J. Marton Council Members: Joelle M. Harbert, Julie A. Opferman, Jason D. Russell and Loree L. Scharritter

Lisa Pitchford, Tax Collector

**<u>ROLL CALL:</u>** Mayor Marton requested the roll call. In attendance was:

#### Elected Officials:

Mayor Ina Marton Louis Bender Charles Davis Joelle Harbert Julie Opferman George Pambacas Jason Russell Loree Scharritter Borough Staff and Professional Services: Patricia McGrail, Solicitor John Palyo, Borough Manager MaryAnn Winemiller, Admin. Asst.

# PUBLIC COMMENTS: None

### NOMINATION FOR THE PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL: Mayor Marton

Mayor Marton opened the floor for nominations for President of Council. Louis Bender nominated Charles Davis for President of Council. Mayor Marton asked if there were any other nominations for President. None were made. Nominations for President of Council was closed.

Mayor Marton asked for a motion to elect Charles Davis as President of Council, Louis Bender made a motion with a second from Julie Opferman.

Charles Davis was elected as President of Council by a unanimous vote.

# NOMINATION FOR THE VICE PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL: Mayor Marton

Mayor Marton opened the floor for nominations for Vice President of Council. Julie Opferman nominated Louis Bender for Vice President of Council. Mayor Marton asked if there were any other nominations for Vice President. None were made. Nominations for Vice President of Council was closed.

Mayor Marton asked for a motion to elect Louis Bender as Vice President of Council, Julie Opferman made a motion with a second from Joelle Harbert.

Louis Bender was elected as Vice President of Council by a unanimous vote.

Mayor Ina Marton passed the gavel to President Charles Davis to preside over the rest of the meeting.

### NOMINATION FOR THE PRESIDENT PRO-TEM: Charles Davis

Council President Charles Davis opened the floor for nominations for President Pro-Tem. Louis Bender nominated Julie Opferman for President Pro-Tem. Charles Davis asked if there were any other nominations for President Pro-Tem. None were made. Nominations for President Pro-Tem was closed.

Charles Davis asked for a motion to elect Julie Opferman as President Pro-Tem, Louis Bender made a motion with a second from Joelle Harbert.

Julie Opferman was elected as President Pro-Tem by a unanimous vote.

# APPOINTMENTS TO POSITIONS: Charles Davis

Louis Bender made a motion to appoint the following positions for the calendar year 2022. Julie Opferman seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

Borough Manager: John Palyo Borough Secretary: John Palyo Borough Treasurer: John Palyo Chief of Police: Mark Sargent Official Publication: Mon Valley Independent Code / Zoning / Building Inspector: CEA Code Enforcement Agency Wildlife Control Officer: Dave Collura Engineer: Senate Engineering Company Solicitor: Patricia L. McGrail, Esquire, McGrail & Associates, LLC Auditor: Mark C. Turnley, CPA

# APPOINTMENTS TO BOARD AND COMMISSION POSITIONS: Charles Davis

Louis Bender made a motion to appointment the following Board / Commissions positions. The motion was seconded by Julie Opferman. The vote was unanimous.

Board and Term	Appointee
<b>Building Code of Appeals Board</b> 5-year term	
<b>Civil Service Commission</b> 6-year term	Richard Bryce
Planning Commission 4-year term	Helen Stratigos (3-year term) Paul McCarthy Richard Bryce (Alternate)
<b>Recreation Board</b> 5-year term	
Vacancy Board 1-year term	Jodi Perozich
Zoning Hearing Board 3-year term	Keith Reigh Ken Robb

WOEMS Council Representative	Jason Russell
Steel Rivers COG	Julie Opferman, Delegate
	Chuck Davis, Alternate
WOAA Council Representatives to the	Loree Scharritter
Board	Joelle Harbert
	George Pambacas
Library Board	Ina Marton, Delegate
	Jason Russell, Alternate
ALOM / Borough's Association	Ina Marton, Delegate
	Chuck Davis, Alternate
Tri-COG Land Bank	George Pambacas, Delegate
	John Palyo, Alternate

Louis Bender made a motion to formally disband the Hazard Mitigation Committee and the appointments to the West-to-West Coalition as it no longer exists. Julie Opferman seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous

### PRESENTATION OF COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS: Charles Davis

Council Committee List		
Finance	Jason Russell, Chair	
	Julie Opferman	
	Lou Bender	
Health, Environment & Cable	Loree Scharritter, Chair	
	Lou Bender	
	George Pambacas	
Personnel	Chuck Davis, Chair	
	Lou Bender	
	Joelle Harbert	
Parks & Recreation	Julie Opferman, Chair	
	Joelle Harbert	
	George Pambacas	
Public Works	George Pambacas, Chair	
	Joelle Harbert	
	Loree Scharritter	
Planning & Zoning	Joelle Harbert, Chair	
	Jason Russell	
	Lou Bender	
Public Safety	Lou Bender, Chair	
-	Loree Scharritter	
	Jason Russell	

Council President Charles Davis presented his 2022 Committee list of appointments for Council.

Louis Bender made a motion to accept the committee appointments for the 2022 year. Julie Opferman seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous

### ESTABLISH DATES AND TIMES FOR COUNCIL MEETINGS AND WORKSHOP MEETINGS:

Council President Charles Davis established the Council Meeting Schedule

- Workshop: 2<sup>nd</sup> Monday of every month (6:45 PM)
- Council / Workshop: 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday of every month (6:45 PM/7:30 PM)

### FINANCE COMMITTEE:

Louis Bender made a motion to authorize the Borough Manager to post and advertise the draft 2022 Budget to be adopted at the January 17<sup>th</sup> Regular meeting of Council. Loree Scharritter seconded the vote. Councilman George Pambacas asked if this is the same budget that was presented at the Special Meeting held on December 29, 2020. White Oak Borough Manager said, "yes, it is". Council President Charles Davis asked for a Roll Call Vote:

<u>Yes Votes</u>: Julie Opferman, Charles Davis, Joelle Harbert, Jason Russell, Lorree Scharritter and Louis Bender.

#### No Votes: George Pambacas

The motion passed with six (6) yes votes and one (1) no vote.

### **RESOLUTIONS:** (Attachments)

#### **RESOLUTION #2022-01**

Louis Bender made a motion to approve Resolution #2022-01 of Council of the Borough of White Oak appointing John Palyo, Delegate, Jason Russell, Alternate #1 and Chuck Davis, Alternate #2 to the Allegheny County Southeast Tax Collection Committee. Joelle Harbert seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

#### **RESOLUTION #2022-02**

Louis Bender made a motion to approve Resolution 2022-02 of Council of the Borough of White Oak appointing Julie Opferman, Delegate and Chuck Davis, Alternate to the South Hills Area Council of Governments (SHACOG) <u>Franchising Authority Board</u>. Joelle Harbert seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

#### **RESOLUTION #2022-03**

Louis Bender made a motion to approve Resolution of Council of the Borough of White Oak appointing Julie Opferman, Delegate and Chuck Davis, Alternate to the South Hills Area Council of Governments (SHACOG) <u>Joint Rate Review Board.</u> Loree Scharritter seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

### ANY OTHER BUSINESS: None

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

- January 10, 2022, 6:45 PM Council Workshop Meeting (Open to the Public)
- January 17, 2022, 6:45 PM Council Workshop Meeting (Open to the Public)
  - 1. 7:30 PM Council Meeting (Open to the Public)

### ADJOURNMENT

Julie Opferman made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:17 pm, George Pambacas seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,

John Palyo

John Palyo Borough Manager, Secretary & Treasurer Date Approved by Council